Spotlight on ~ Lorraine Khachatourians

Although I have always had an interest in art, and drew a lot when I was young, I didn’t begin to paint and draw seriously until about 15 years ago. I have to credit my uncle George Bates, who was a professional artist, with encouraging me over many years, with conversations about art, painting, and being an painter. One particular thing he told me was that a person might never become famous or a professional artist, but could learn to draw and paint and become proficient enough to enjoy working at it. He was planting seeds for my future.

summer-preserved-sm-72

Summer Preserved’, Oil on canvas, 22 x 28 inches

Through these conversations, I learned the importance of light, and to observe how light interacts with objects and the environment. I am attracted to the way light moves over, through, and behind objects both manmade and in nature. Glassware, metal, leaves, flowers, fruits and water are what I enjoy painting. My collection of family glass and silver, various old bottles, shells, leaves and such, flowers from my garden and everyday objects I come across, provide a source of my favourite things.

water-lily-2016-sm-71

‘Water Lily, Boffins’, Oil on canvas, 16 x 16 inches

The process of observing how the light illuminates and creates shapes of different colours and intensities and then translating those colours and shapes onto the canvas or paper brings me the greatest sense of quiet and peacefulness that I enjoy so much. The magic happens when those colours and shapes suddenly become the object or scene that I am trying to express. With time I have come to the place my uncle said was possible to achieve, enjoyment and contentment in painting and drawing.

l-easel-0217

Leave a Reply

